Skip to content

The Prequel: The Final Stretch Before the Final Stretch

September 28, 2011

October 29, 2010

I can’t believe it’s been a month since I’ve last posted! Oops. I was really hoping I would be more regular about keeping this place updated with all the news and happenings from TG and my first pregnancy. It’s been such a fun, exciting, challenging, and wild time…I hope I remember it all! (Well, maybe not so much the mood swings and crankiness and, oh, having the worst cold EVER for the last two weeks…)

Meedeum-ee, we grow more and more in love with you every day. Your dad loves to press his face up against my belly button (he says, since it’s still an innie, it’s where he can get closest to you), and to talk to you. He always wants to cover umma’s belly with kisses, and still gets the same look of excitement when he feels you kick. He is going to be a wonderful father, and we are both such lucky girls to have him in our lives.

I love that you are inside of me, and I feel so lucky to have this special blessing of being so close to you every day. You are already such a good girl, trying not to make this too difficult on umma. For the most part, I’ve felt pretty good and energetic throughout this pregnancy and feel so fortunate to be able to say that I love being pregnant. Especially with a little love like you inside of me.

The past couple of weeks have been a bit rough for us because I’ve gotten a really bad cold. It started off as a sore throat and grew to this full-fledged coughing, congested, shivers, mohm-sahl beast. It was mucus city! Gross! I am finally feeling somewhat human today and hope it stays this way because we are going to be making a trip to Indiana next week!  It’s where you were conceived, you know.  I’ll write more about our trip later!

But for today, I just wanted to document the beginning of the last week in our second trimester. I am so, so proud of you for getting here and I hope you are comfortable and happy in there, somehow feeling all the love we have for you. I’m sorry I haven’t always been so calm and peaceful during the last 6 months. Pregnancy is a big change! I wish I could be the perfect mother for you, but I know that our God in Heaven is all wise and all knowing, and if He thinks umma and abba are the best parents for you, well then we will do our best for the rest of our lives to live up to that honor.

Next Friday begins our third trimester together. I’m so excited (and, yes, also terrified!) for what that will bring but, if I’m honest, it also feels a little bittersweet. Soon, I won’t have you so close to me every day anymore. I’ll miss the time we’ve had together, literally one. I’m going to soak up every memory of this time together, and enjoy it. I hope you do too, Meedeum-ee.

We love you so much, our love. Here’s to the final stretch before the final stretch!!

P.S.
Umma is going to get her glucose test now! This test is to determine whether I have gestational diabetes. Let’s keep our fingers crossed!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

