Skip to content

The Prequel: Hiya!

September 28, 2011

September 28, 2010

It’s been a few days, but I wanted to record a very special date.

On Friday, September 24, 2010 (the day I started my 22nd week), TG felt MD kick for the first time! It had been a long day, and we were relaxing on the couch with the Glee DVD that had just come in from Netflix. I had been feeling MD kick and move for quite some time now, but TG had yet to feel anything. I felt MD squirm around and kick so I took TG’s hands and lay it on my belly. We had tried this a number of times before, but none of them had worked.

But this time…KICK!!!

Sometimes I wish I could keep a constant recording of everything that goes on in my life, because I always want to remember the expression on TG’s face. As soon as he felt that kick, he turned to me with his eyes boggled and shouted “WHOA!!!” He then immediately dropped to his knees in front of me and lay both his hands on my belly. The expression on his face was a perfect mixture of shock, awe, and fascination. Hehe, that seems to be happening a lot lately.

TG didn’t really feel anything after that, which was a bit of a bummer. But…the next morning, while we were still in bed lolling around, TG felt MD kick two more times! YAYYY MD!!!!

I am so thankful for my husband who already pours so much love and affection onto our little girl. I don’t take that for granted. It would be lovely if all moms and dads out there loved their baby from the first, but I know it isn’t the case. MD, I know there are probably a lot of parents out there who could provide more for you, or maybe be more patient or sweet. But, no one out there will love you more than your dad and me. We love you so much, and we are so thankful to have you in our lives. You are already making us better people, and we are so very excited to meet you!!

I hope you are snug and warm there in my belly. You sure are growing fast! At church this past weekend, a lot of people commented on how much I was showing. Several people said I looked much further along than 5 and a half months. At first I felt a little badly since I’ve struggled with some body issues growing up. But then I realized…I am eating healthy (I could do better, but I could also do a LOT worse I know), I’m exercising, and yes, I’m growing. I don’t want my daughter to grow up with body image issues, so I’m going to start working on mine now. I want to focus on the blessing of good health – I’m growing, but I’m healthy and have had a very healthy pregnancy so far. So very thankful for that. MD, I really hope that I able to teach you that all women are strong, beautiful, and special. Yes, we all have areas we need to work on. Mine are my temper, my indecisiveness, and my insecurities. But, before all these weaknesses began to grow, we were all born perfect in the eyes of God and we should never forget that. We are, and will always be, His child first and that makes us perfect and holy in Him.

We love you so much, and I can’t wait to meet you, baby girl. I love feeling you kick inside me. It feels like our own secret language. You kick me, and my hands automatically go to my belly to give you a rub or a little pat. I love singing praise at church and patting my belly along with the rhythm of the music. It feels like we are already praising together. :)

Stay strong and healthy, MD-ee, and enjoy this time of rest and comfort. I’ll try to take care of you while you’re in there as best as I can, and I’ll try to give you the good nutrients you need. Umma needs to stay away from those potato chips a little better, hehe. :)

I love you, baby girl, and abba loves you too!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

