Skip to content

The Prequel: En Why See

September 28, 2011

September 2, 2010

* Yawn *

I love waking up in this apartment and sitting at our dining table, soaking in the light that filters through our long windows. When I look out those windows, eyes still masked with sleep, I can imagine all the days to come. Watching the burning autumn sunsets as Meedeum-ee grows bigger still in my belly. Stringing Christmas lights around the window frame in celebration of TG and my last Christmas alone together. Pointing out the gentle travel of soft snowflakes to our Meedeum-ee, who is finally here home with us.

I can’t believe we had no clue in our minds that this apartment would be home to our first child when we first decided to rent it. It just goes to show, you never know what God has up His sleeves.

I’m traveling into NY today to do some work from Columbia campus, and to meet some old friends who are in town. It’ll be my first time meeting with Claudia since TC graduation!! I can’t believe so much time has flown by already, but I’m so thankful that we have continued our friendship throughout all this time. She doesn’t know about Meedeum-ee yet…hehehe. I’ll just show up with my round belly and give her a little surprise. ;)  I’m so excited to visit all of the old Columbia and Barnard grounds. Something about that place always fills me with such strength and inspiration. I’m so fortunate to have been able to spend a good chunk of my young adult life there. I’ve been staying up late every night this week finishing up on projects, and working extra hours to make up for today. It is worth every minute, and while I’ll still be doing some work from campus, it’ll be nice to know I have some leeway to take some time for a campus stroll, and to linger over lunch with Claudia.

In the evening, I’ll be meeting with Petah! I haven’t seen him now in…oh…6-9 months or so. Petah is my buddy, and I hope it’ll always be that way. We’re always able to have honest conversations, and just enjoy each other’s company, even though our lives are different in so many ways. We don’t always talk or keep in touch, but, when we do, we pick up right from where we left off. He’s also one of the first friends I call with big life news, such as when TG and I got engaged or when we got pregnant. I’m glad that TG and Petah get along and TG approves of him as a friend, because it would be sad to say good-bye to such a special friendship! Hopefully TG gets out of work on time so he can join us for dinner too.

Part of me is dreading heading into the city, since it has been a sweltering week and it’ll hit 93 degrees today. Plus I’ve had a little bit of a rough week physically, and am feeling a bit tired. But then I think about how few opportunities I have to see Claudia and Petah, and how much they mean to me and it’s worth it. We’ll just have to find some well air-conditioned place – like Butler! (I think?) Or…McIntosh! (I think?)

Oo, getting excited all over again to see campus! So many memories…like rushing to ballet class in the Barnard Dance Studio…Beginner’s Ballet! Hahaha…I was pretty terrible…but I loved it, and am so glad I decided to get over my embarassment and sign up. All those late-night rehearsals with Raw Elementz…too bad I dropped the ball on that one spending too much time at Rutgers, but at least I ended up marrying TG so I would say it was a pretty fair trade. ;)  The Asian chicken salad wraps at McIntosh…those yummy, melty, chipotley Mexicali sandwiches at Lerner…laying out on The Steps on sunny days…meeting friends at Cafe Swish for dinner…dashing to class in Barnard Hall…freshman year and the “Dancing Queen”…so many memories…

This could take all morning, so I better stop now! Just felt like a good ol’ rambling so that’s what you got today. I hope Meedeum-ee is okay in there and doesn’t get too tired or uncomfortable for his/her first day out in NY!

Oo, yes, and Meedeum-ee is 18 weeks and 6 days along today – 19 weeks tomorrow, hooray!! TG and I can not WAIT until we hit the 21st week, since we’ll be getting our gender scan on Tuesday, September 21st. I have been swaying back and forth between my guess on whether Meedeum-ee is a boy or a girl…but now my guess is leaning more strongly towards boy. Oh holy cow…I have no idea how to be a mother to a boy! I know nothing about boys! (TG will confirm this, hehehe.) Oh dear God. It would be wonderful of course, I always wanted both a son and a daughter so I’ll be happy with either, but I can’t help but laugh when I think of myself raising a boy. Thank goodness for TG!

Okey, that is really all for now. Just a bunch of ramblings, but some days that’s what it’s all about. 🙂

Toodles!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

